Posted by: njbrown | November 2, 2011

Avocado Banana Muffins


Avocado Banana Muffins

For some time, I’ve been hearing the health benefits of avocados.  Janet Podleski, the nutritionist sister of Eat, Shrink and Be Merry fame has said we should all have an avocado a day.  I’m certainly not living up to that standard, but when a young friend brought me an avocado banana muffin recently, I liked it so much that I asked for the recipe.  These muffins are good and good for you, being made with whole wheat flour and without eggs.  I substituted maple syrup and granulated sugar for honey since my vegan daughter says beekeepers make the bees work too hard (!).  I think honey would give a very nice flavor, but the muffins made with honey were dryer than mine.  The texture is quite firm, but my husband and I have found them strangely addictive.  If you’re looking for a different muffin experience, and one that makes you feel virtuous, they are worth a try.

Avocado Banana Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 2 ripe avocados, pureed
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • ¾ cup honey (or can substitute ½ cup maple syrup and 1/3 cup granulated sugar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Scant ¼ tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 ̊F.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a large bowl, combine avocado, banana, honey and vanilla.
  4. Fold dry mixture into the avocado-banana mixture.
  5. Once combined, spoon into greased muffin pans, spreading evenly, if desired.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into middle of muffin comes out clean. Let cool.

TIP: Will keep fresh covered in a container for up to 5 days.


Responses

  1. […] banana avocado muffins (find recipe here), yogurt with fresh raspberries mixed […]

  2. Gonna try these Nancy, and Meagan and I loved Quebec City also, went there last month!

  3. Loved them! any chance you know how many calories in each? would love to find out their macros – grams in carbs and protein…

    • Hi Silvia –

      I did a quick look at the calorie count for the ingredients, and it looks like the whole batch is 2229 calories. If you make 12 muffins, then each would have about 186 calories. I don’t have a clue about the carbs and protein. Hope this helps.

      Best wishes,

      Nancy

  4. This recipe sounds delicious..I am looking forward to trying it! Where did you find it?

    • Hi Jordyn –

      A young friend found it, I think in a free Toronto newspaper. She tried them, and then passed the recipe on. I hope you enjoy them!

      Best wishes,

      Nancy

  5. Can an extra banana be substituted for one of the avocados? Not sure how it would affect the recipe. They sound lovely!

    • Hi Jennifer –

      I really don’t know, but it’s worth a try. Good luck!

      Nancy

  6. Bananas and avocados? Two of my favorite things!

    • Mine, too!

      Best wishes,

      Nancy

  7. how many muffins does this yield?

    • That is a really good question. I don’t think I was given an amount when I was given the recipe, and it’s been some time since I made them. I think the recipe makes a dozen. Sorry I can’t be more specific!

      Best wishes,

      Nancy

  8. They sound wonderful! Do they have a buttery taste from the avocado? My son is a vegetarian, I bet he would love these. Thanks!

    • Hi Jane –

      It’s been a while since I made them, so I don’t remember a buttery taste. They are just very pleasant. Since my daughter is a vegan, I’m very sympathetic to your son’s tastes.

      Best wishes,

      Nancy

  9. Yeay! We have avocado trees and there is only so much guacamole one can eat! I’m trying this recipe soonest!

    • George finds them strangely addictive, but then he feels that way about most food. I hope you enjoy them!


Leave a comment

Categories