Posted by: njbrown | January 26, 2011

Easy Apple Crisp


Easy Apple Crisp

It is a very wintry day.  Snow is falling steadily, and although we’ve been spared the heavy accumulations of New England, it definitely is not Miami outside my kitchen windows.  On a day like this, traditional comfort food is very appealing.  Having recently read a murder mystery where the caterer sleuth prepared rhubarb crisp in between finding bodies, I sent my husband to the grocery store to buy rhubarb, but none was to be found.  Lacking rhubarb, I’ve fallen back on the ever reliable apple as the basis for my crisp.  This recipe has been adapted from Apple Crisp Recipe Dot Com.  It serves 6.

(To make preparation easier, I used my one-step apple-corer-slicer.

One-step Apple-corer-slicer

  • This, of course, produces larger apple slices that are fine in our family, but you might be motivated to slice the apples more thinly.)  My husband will not eat anything that contains nuts – not for allergy reasons, it is just an idiosyncrasy.  If I were doing this just for myself, I’d add about ½ cup of chopped walnuts or pecans to the topping.)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups sliced apples – use 4 medium tart apples
  • ¾ cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour (you can also use self-rising flour if you want)
  • ½ cup quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
  • ⅓ cup melted butter or margarine
  • ¾ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon allspice
  • Juice and zest of one lemon

Directions:

  1. Heat your oven to 375 F. Then take an 8-inch square pan and grease it
    with shortening.
  2. Slice apples, toss with lemon juice and zest.
  3. Spread sliced apples in the pan.
  4. Then take a medium sized bowl and mix in all the remaining ingredients – packed brown sugar, all-purpose flour, oats, melted butter or margarine, ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg and ground allspice. When it is well mixed, sprinkle them over the apples.
  5. Put the baking pan into the oven and bake for approximately 30 minutes. When done the topping should be golden brown and apples should be tender when you pierce them  with a knife or a fork.
  6. When your apple crisp is done you can top it with ice cream, whipped cream or whatever you like.  We prefer it unadorned.

It is definitely a “cozy” dish.

Nancy

Responses

  1. very nice post, i actually love this website, carry on it

  2. I am so impressed I had to save it so I continously go back and read things I may have skimmed


Leave a Reply

Categories

