Posted by: njbrown | October 31, 2011

Zucchini “Spaghetti” with Marinara Sauce (Vegan and Raw Friendly)


 
Zucchini “Spaghetti” with Marinara Sauce (Vegan and Raw Friendly)

 One Friday this past August I got a frantic call from my daughter who works in a raw food restaurant.  “Mom, we’re here at Toronto Veg Fest, but one of the cooks hasn’t arrived.  Can you come and help?”  A good mother has to have a powerful reason to say no to her child, so I agreed to get ready quickly.

Veg Fest was held in the scenic Harbourfront area of the city; the weather was lovely, and our booth overlooked Lake Ontario.  After peeling and dicing a number of mangoes, I was promoted to “spiralizing” more than thirty pounds of zucchini. This involved trimming the ends off of each zucchini,  attaching it to the turning slicer, and then cranking as rapidly as possible to produce the long strands of  faux spaghetti.  After three hours of this, I felt I had somewhat redeemed myself for all of those times during my career that I had to tell my children I couldn’t do something with them.

Spiralizer

My daughter’s boss gave me a spiralizer as thanks for helping out.  It can be used for potato noodles, chips and slices; french fry rings and potato twists, rings and slices of melon, apple chips, etc.  While I had cooked happily without one for decades, it is fun to have.

Zucchini “Spaghetti” with Marinara Sauce – (Vegan and Raw Friendly)

 Ingredients:

  • 4 zucchini
  • 3 fresh plum tomatoes
  • 1 small jar sun-dried tomatoes in oil
  • 1 red pepper
  • ½  tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
  • ¾ tsp. Italian seasoning
  • Tabasco, salt and pepper to taste
  • Minced parsley for garnish

Directions:

  1. Wash zucchini and trim ends.  (I like the color that unpeeled zucchini has, but you can certainly peel each zucchini before spiralizing.)  Attach to slicer according to instructions in manual, and spiralize.
  2. Reserve zucchini “noodles”
  3. Quarter tomatoes and roughly chop red pepper.
  4. Place in processor and add sun-dried tomatoes with about half of their oil, garlic, Italian seasoning and lemon.  Process until smooth but slightly chunky.  Taste, and add Tabasco, salt and pepper.
  5. Just before serving, place zucchini on each plate and top with sauce. Sprinkle with parsley. (Zucchini may release water if on the plate too long.)

The sauce can be kept in the refrigerator for up to one week.

This recipe is adapted from one by raw food chef and author Jennifer Cornbleet:   and is similar to one my daughter’s restaurant serves.

Responses

  1. I am also amazed that we can make zucchini pasta with this type of turners/slicer. Its a nice kitchen tool to have. Like the recipe. I would also get myself like this one http://gan.doubleclick.net/gan_click?lid=41000000036636525&pubid=21000000000396892

    For healthy cooking tips, click on http://www.akgventures.com/blog

  2. I have that exact same device! They’re so much fun for garnishing! I love the idea of using it for pasta.


Leave a Reply

Categories

