Posted by: njbrown | October 3, 2012

Snow Pea and Radish Salad


Snow Pea and Radish Salad

A recent recipe from Bon Appétit on-line for a snow pea and radish salad inspired this recipe.  They recommended serving it with crispy rainbow trout, but since my daughter has been urging me to do a vegan recipe, I focused on the salad and modified the yogurt-based dressing recommended by Bon Appétit to be vegan-friendly.  Outside of Chinese restaurants, I haven’t had snow peas for many years, and I don’t know if I ever had them uncooked.  I found them to be delicious raw, and the peppery accent of the radishes is a nice touch.  Vegan or non-vegan, whether served alone or with trout or some other protein, I think you’ll enjoy this.

(Serves 2)

Ingredients:

  Dressing:

  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 T balsamic vinegar
  • 2 T fresh orange juice
  • ¼ teaspoon grated orange zest
  • A pinch of cinnamon

  Salad:

  • 6 oz. fresh snow peas julienned
  • 4 radishes thinly sliced
  • 1 T. chopped chives
  • 1 teaspoon sesame seeds

Directions:

  1. Combine julienned snow peas with radishes in serving bowl.
  2. Combine dressing ingredients.
  3. Toss peas and radishes with dressing and plate.
  4. Sprinkle with chives and sesame seeds.

Responses

  1. That looks so good! I wasn’t hungry until I saw this! I need to add it to next weeks menu.

    • Thanks so much! It’s a virtuous dish, too.

      Best wishes,

      Nancy


Leave a comment

Categories