Posted by: njbrown | July 31, 2012

Oranges Grand Marnier or Mousse à l’Orange


Oranges Grand Marnier or Mousse à l’Orange

Having posted about a hundred and fifty recipes, it is taking me longer to find appealing new dishes.  I went back to my very old recipe file, and found the one below for a refreshing, easy, and fairly sophisticated dessert that is especially enjoyable in the summer.  It came to me from a co-worker when I was a new bride.  I was still at the Campbell’s Soup in everything stage of cooking, but this was something even I could achieve.

Julia has a similar recipe in Mastering – Mousse à l’Orange.  Her recipe takes more time as you cook the yolk mixture, and fold the egg whites (which my version doesn’t use) into the hot orange mixture over a bowl of ice before folding in the whipped cream and filling the oranges.  As much as I love Julia, I think my version is probably 99% as good, and less labor-intensive.

Ingredients:

  • 8 orange shells
  • 6 egg yolks
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 3 oz. Grand Marnier (Cointreau may, of course, be used instead)
  • Zest of one orange
  • 3 T. orange juice
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • Confectioners’ sugar and vanilla to taste

Directions:

  1. Cut top ⅓ off oranges.  If the orange doesn’t stand straight, trim slice off bottom.
  2. Remove pulp from the bottom of each orange, and reserve 3 T. orange juice.  Keep each top with its bottom for finishing later.
  3. Beat egg yolks with sugar until they are light yellow, have increased in volume and make a ribbon.
  4. Mix in Grand Marnier and zest.
  5. Using a chilled bowl and beaters, whip 1 cup of cream until stiff and fold into yolk mixture – be careful not to over-whip so that it becomes lumpy.  Reserve the rest of whipping cream for decoration.
  6. Fill shells, wrap with plastic wrap and freeze at least 4 hours.
  7. Before serving, whip remaining cup of cream with confectioners’ sugar and vanilla to taste.
  8. Using a piping bag with a star tip, pipe a swirl on top of the mousse in each orange cup.
  9. Place orange top on each cup at a slant, and garnish with spring of mint.

Responses

  1. It doesn’t say when you add the reserved lemon and orange juice

    • Sharp eyes, Glynis! I haven’t made these for years, but I think if you add them after the Grand Marnier and zest, it will be fine.

      Very sorry!!!!

  2. Nice post. I be taught one thing more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It should all the time be stimulating to read content material from different writers and observe slightly something from their store. I’d want to use some with the content material on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a hyperlink in your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Sounds like this would taste like a creamsicle! What a great presentation!

    • A very boozy Creamsicle! I think the frosty oranges look really nice on a hot day.

      Thank you!


Leave a comment

Categories