Posted by: njbrown | July 15, 2012

Cherry Pitting Made Easy


The Leifheit Cherry Stoner

This week I had a rare, “Where have you been all my life?” experience when I tried my new Progressive Cherry-It Pitter.  I’ve never enjoyed eating cherries with their pits, and pitting them one-by-one using a spring pitter has been frustratingly slow and hard on my hand.  A recent Iron Chef America episode featured cherries, and I was intrigued to see the sous chefs pitting cherries with amazing speed using a utensil I’d never seen.  A Web search for cherry pitters showed that it was the Leifheit Cherry Stoner.  You can load up to 15 cherries at a time, but reviews said that you have to push the pitting plunger hard and fast to get the best results.  The sous chefs had looked like they were working hard.

Taking the comments into account as well as the size, price (about $35 Cdn), and limited usefulness, I was hesitant.  The same search showed the Progressive Cherry-It Pitter – small, easy to store, with a capacity of four cherries at a time, and a wonderful container to hold the pits.

Progressive Cherry-It Pitter

The Cherry-It got rave reviews, and was half the price of the Leifheit.  I decided to try one, and after a wait for them to come back into stock, I was able to buy one at our Bed Bath & Beyond.

I can’t tell you how wonderful this is!  I hadn’t known if doing four cherries at a time would be that much faster, but it really is.  It’s a joy not to have juice squirting out and staining things.  Dumping the pits at the end of the process is so easy, and best of all, you operate it with your whole hand so avoid grip fatigue.  The Cherry-It comes apart easily and can be washed in the dishwasher.

I’d never thought I’d make a cherry pie because I don’t like the pre-made cherry filling, and the idea of pitting a pound of cherries was completely off-putting.  Cherry pie is now within my reach.

Run, don’t walk to get one for yourself.

Responses

  1. I don’t even want to know how many cherries I would eat if I had one of these!

    • At least they’re healthy and low-calorie!

      Best wishes,

      Nancy

  2. In traditional French cherry clafoutis, recipes call for unpitted cherries for the same reason Chez Panisse Fruit says to keep apricots intact for canning.

    • I had read that about clafoutis, but I would rather not run the risk of a broken tooth. Thanks so much for the information.

      Best wishes,

      Nancy

  3. The Cherry-It seems safer and easier to use than most individual, plunger-style pitters. For one, the motion is easier and not as much of a strain or fatigue for pitting large quantities of cherries, such as for a pie . This makes it especially useful for people with arthritis or other mobility issues. For another, the pitter is more effective since the plunger-style pitters are, by necessity, not as sharp. The Cherry-It’s pitting teeth are sharp so the pit is removed cleanly, but the moving plate keeps the teeth safely concealed. Even my 5-year-old could use this safely (with supervision, of course) to pit a few cherries to put in Cherry Fudgesicle Bars .

    • So glad you had good results, too. The inventor was really smart!

      Nancy

  4. What a neat gadget! I too, have not made a cherry pie because of the pits, now I can because of this tip! I am going to go get one. (I hope you get a commission from Bed, Bath and Beyond, cause I bet they are going to have an increase in sales because of you) Thanks!

    • So glad it was helpful, Jane. I was amazed when I saw Iron Chef America, but this really is better.

      Have fun!

      Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

