Posted by: njbrown | May 17, 2012

Baby Spinach Pomegranate Salad


Spinach Pomegranate Salad

Every year, my husband’s men’s group hosts a dinner for the wives.  One of the men, Roger (a delightful French-Canadian) makes a delicious salad that includes pomegranate seeds.  I found this recipe which I think is close to Roger’s.  I love the look of the pomegranate seeds – to me, they look almost like rubies.  Their tartness and crunch add an unusual note to the salad.  Feta brings in saltiness, and the red onion and walnuts contribute their unique flavors and textures.  In making the balsamic vinaigrette, I just used the juice of the pomegranate, and some extra virgin olive oil with the balsamic vinegar.  The amounts can be to your taste.

Never having worked with a pomegranate before, I did a bit of research.  I had seen Roger liberally spanking his pomegranate halves with a heavy spoon to free the seeds, and it turns out that is a valid technique.  Before spanking, I rolled the pomegranate as one tip had suggested to make seed removal easier.  I did not worry about peeling the pomegranate.

Once the picture had been taken, I realized I’d forgotten the sprouts.  “Mise en place, mise on place, mise on place” my husband said remembering Julia’s’ instructions.  Even without the sprouts, it’s a really enjoyable salad.

(Serves 4 to 6)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (10 ounce) bag baby spinach leaves, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 red onion, sliced very thin
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta
  • 1/4 cup alfalfa sprouts (optional)
  • 1 pomegranate, peeled and seeds separated
  • 4 tablespoons balsamic vinaigrette

Directions

Place spinach in a salad bowl. Top with red onion, walnuts, feta, and sprouts. Sprinkle pomegranate seeds over the top, and drizzle with vinaigrette.

From Allrecipes.com

Responses

  1. Hey there You are doing good job writing this posts. I am reading Your articles for some time and i can’t wait for next. Your blog represents Your point of view, that’s what i like .

    • So nice to know that people are enjoying the blog!

      Bon appetit!

      Nancy

  2. This bright and healthy dish tastes great, and is really easy to make. The sweet pomegranate seeds really add a nice sweetness to the Brussels sprouts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

