Posted by: njbrown | March 6, 2012

Apricot Ginger Sorbet with Almond Lace Cookies (Tuiles)


Apricot Ginger Sorbet with Almond Lace Cookies (Tuilles)

I am a new-comer to using fresh ginger, but I really like the taste and the flavor explosion that it adds to many dishes.  When I saw a recipe for apricot ginger sorbet in a cookbook I received for my birthday, I couldn’t wait to try it.  The recipe is very easy, and I love the combination of apricots with ginger.

As an accompaniment, I decided to make almond lace cookies (“tuiles” in French if they are made in the curved shape).  I’d made them once many years ago, but long ago had given away my cookbook with the recipe.  Once again, I was very grateful for the Web and the recipes it has resurrected for me.  I found a number of almond lace recipes (some the same recipe under different names), but it took several tries to find one that worked well for making “cigarettes.”

Readers of this blog know that chocolate is my favorite dessert flavor, but this is a really nice change, and I think it would be wonderful when the weather gets hot.

Note:

I used silicon mats to bake these.  The cookies spread during baking and look impossibly thin, but after two minutes or so of cooling, they can be freed from the mat and are nicely pliable.  I rolled the warm cookies on a plate before putting them on the cooling rack.

Apricot Ginger Sorbet by Reed Mangels, PhD, RD, LD, FADA

Made with real fruit and without dairy, this is a nearly fat-free treat that you can add to smoothies or just enjoy outside on a hot summer day.

Ingredients:
serves 6

  • ⅔ cup water
  • ⅔ cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons fresh minced ginger
  • 5 cups chopped apricots, fresh or frozen
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Bring the water, sugar, and ginger to a boil; reduce to a slow simmer. Heat for 3–4 more minutes, until sugar is dissolved and a syrup forms. Allow to cool.
  2. Purée the sugar syrup, apricots, and lemon juice until smooth.
  3. Transfer mixture to a large freezer-proof baking or casserole dish; freeze.
  4. Stir every 30 minutes, until a smooth ice cream forms, about 4 hours. If mixture gets too firm, transfer to a blender, process until smooth, then return to freezer.
  5. Garnish with ¼ of an almond lace cookie – Nancy.

Almond Lace Cookies
Gourmet  | May 2000
by David Wells
David’s (a bistro!), Salisbury, MD

Makes about 18 cookies in 40 min

Be sure to cool these cookies before transferring them to a rack—they are very soft when they first come out of the oven and need a moment to set.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds, chopped
  • (Optional – ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract – Nancy)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and generously grease 2 large baking sheets.
  2. Cook brown sugar, butter, and corn syrup in a 1-quart saucepan over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until smooth.
  3. Remove from heat, then stir in flour and almonds (and vanilla, if desired).
  4. Spoon scant tablespoons of batter 6 inches apart on baking sheets (4 cookies per sheet) and bake 1 sheet at a time in middle of oven until golden brown and bubbling, 6 to 8 minutes. (Cookies will spread to 5 to 6 inches.)  If batter becomes too stiff to spoon easily, reheat over low heat 30 seconds
  5. Cool cookies on sheet 1 to 2 minutes.
  6. Quickly but carefully remove cookies from sheet with a metal spatula and transfer to a rack to cool completely. (If they become too brittle to transfer, return baking sheet to oven for about 1 minute to allow cookies to soften.)

(If you want to make tuiles, lay each warm cookie over a rolling pin until firm.  For “cigarettes,” roll warm cookies around handle of a wooden spoon, or other small cylindrical object, and then cool on rack – Nancy.)

Cooks’ notes:

· Cookies keep in an airtight container 5 days.  (Keeping in freezer will keep them crisp – Nancy).

Responses

  1. A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. I love Almond Lace Cookies and those brave enough to try them! I wish more would.

    I came up with my own version of a Almond Lace Cookies, or as I sometimes call them, Broomstick cookies. While different from your own, I think mine is a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2014/01/almond-lace-cookies.html

    • Hi Michele –

      I think your blog and your recipe look great.

      Keep up the good work!

      Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

