Posted by: njbrown | July 24, 2011

Cold Honeydew Avocado Soup


Cold Honeydew Avocado Soup

 

I was a late-comer to avocados.  Early in my marriage, I remember making a salad of endive, orange, grapefruit and avocado with a lemon-poppy seed dressing for company dinners, but I really didn’t enjoy the avocado with what seemed to be its slimy texture.  What a difference a few decades make.  This year, I’ve come to love the creamy silkiness of avocado, but I’ve used it almost exclusively in guacamole.  A couple of weeks ago, I came across a recipe for a cold honeydew avocado soup that sounded interesting.  Now that the temperature has soared, I’m finding cold soup recipes very appealing.  Chef Ed – whose recipe it is – made it seem quick and easy:

Serves 2 to 4

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 honeydew chopped
  • 1 avocado
  • Juice of 1 lime (Chef Ed called for 1/2, but to me it seemed to need more acidity)
  • Pinch of salt
  • About 2 teaspoons chopped mint
  • Mint for garnish
  • Creme fraiche – optional.  Plain yoghurt or vanilla yoghurt may also be used.  Vegans can use a vegan “yoghurt.”

Directions:

  1. Blend honeydew, avocado lime juice and salt.
  2. Add chopped mint to mixture.
  3. Chill until ready to serve.
  4. Before serving, chiffonade mint for the garnish.
  5. Top soup with creme fraiche (or other topping) and strips of mint.

I think a food processor could be used equally successfully if you don’t have a blender.

To see Chef Ed demonstrate it and show how he cuts honeydews, go to:    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dmyntPv3MVc

Nancy

Responses

  1. After reading this, I get hungry for avocados. Thanks for the useful info, how about you drop by and give me a few tips, would apreciate it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

