Posted by: njbrown | February 4, 2010

Coconut Lime (Vegan) Cupcake


Coconut Lime Vegan Cupcake

February 4, 2010The Mucho Margarita cupcakes (in which I substituted rum for Tequila since I don’t like worms) were very good, but not photogenic, so last night I did the Coconut Lime recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World.  Our food photography leaves much to be desired, but you get the general idea.  The batter contains unsweetened coconut and coconut milk (which I had never used before).  Again, I thought the taste and texture were excellent, and unidentifiable to non-vegans. 

 I’ve just researched Tequila, and apparently there is no worm in the bottle, so for the future I might have to follow the recipe.  

In the process of doing two cupcake recipes that involved lime juice, I compared Persian lime juice, Nellie and Joe’s and another brand that I found in a gourmet store here at astronomical cost (about $10 Cdn a bottle) that was advertised as being Key lime juice.  (There is some question about whether Nellie and Joe’s is made from Key limes, or is just lime juice from the Keys.)  The other brand was extremely bitter.  The Persian lime juice seemed anemic compared to the others.  Nellie and Joe’s was my favorite (and George’s). 

In the management meeting this morning, it was suggested I become a cupcake lady when I retire.  For fun, yes, for money, no. 

Nancy

Responses

  1. Oh by the way, you should make the Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes. They’re super super good!

    • I made the Black Forest ones (minus the Kirsch), and they were wonderful. It sounds like we have similar taste in cupcakes!

  2. I’m going to make these soon! But before that I’m making the Chocolate Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Icing

  3. Can’t wait to try these cupcakes. They look amazing! Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

