Posted by: njbrown | January 31, 2010

Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World


This week, my husband, my daughter and my son-in-law traveled to East Aurora, New York to celebrate my birthday (if one can celebrate a 67th birthday) with lunch at the Roycroft Inn.  The Roycroft is a wonderfully restored Arts and Crafts building, with many original pieces of furniture.  At the height of its fame, there were five hundred artisans working in the printing company and associated crafts.  We had a lovely lunch – vegan and non – and all in all, it was a delightful day.

Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

On the way back, we stopped at Border’s to use the gift certificate a dear friend had given me, and my daughter found Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World – a small, but beautiful book of seventy-five gorgeous recipes for cupcakes of all kinds written by Iwsa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.  I have never been a big cupcake person, but this book was irresistible.  There are recipes for Black Forest Cupcakes, Green Tea Cupcakes, Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes, Lemon Macadamia Cupcakes, and Mucho Margarita Cupcakes, just to name a few.

Chocolate Mint Vegan Cupcake

My first attempt was Chocolate Mint  with mint icing (the actual icing is greener than it appears in the picture) and chocolate ganache.  The good news is that they are wonderful even without eggs and butter.  They have a good “crumb,” are deeply chocolaty, and the icing is creamy.  Somehow it seems more virtuous to make cupcakes rather than a whole Reine de Saba.  When I used jumbo paper cups, the recipe made nine instead of the twelve it said it would.  Nine cupcakes are less sinful than twelve.

From initially feeling my daughter was really “out-there” with her vegan lifestyle, I’m coming to see the wisdom of it, especially if I can make delicious food.  The authors have a chance of “taking over the world” with their cupcakes, because once you’ve tried them, you question using ingredients that consume so much more of our resources.  My next attempt is going to be the Mucho Margarita Cupcakes, since I am very well supplied with lime juice.

For more about vegan lifestyle, please see my daughter’s blog:  http://veganistaloves.wordpress.com/category/food/

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

