Posted by: njbrown | November 30, 2009

Food processors – the next generation


November 30, 2009

Last Saturday, my dear husband called me from the grocery superstore to say he had seen a wonderful food processor with all sorts of bells and whistles for an amazingly low price.  (Here in Canada, we don’t often have amazingly low prices on anything.)  Since returning to cooking four months ago after seeing Julie and Julia, I had begun looking longingly at new food processors as mine was about thirty years old, but I couldn’t justify either the counter space on my already full counter, or the expenditure.  However, as George described the small processing bowl inside the large one (thereby giving me the advantages of both a small processor and a larger one), and the storage drawer inside the base, I couldn’t resist.

I hadn’t paid much attention to the new generation of processors, but had a vague recollection of smaller bowls inside the large bowl that some offered.  I hadn’t heard of any with storage drawers.  When George arrived home with my early Christmas present and we unpacked the box, I was thrilled – terrified of both blades that are wickedly sharp – but thrilled.  Having disks that are reversible is wonderful, and there is even an adjustable slicing disk.  There is a lid that fits on top of the small bowl for storage of whatever small amount you’ve chopped.  Out of curiosity, I Googled food processors with storage, and mine seems to be a knock-off of a Wolfgang Puck processor but without the continuous flow feature.  Since I will not be chopping huge quantities of anything, that is not a problem.  Wolfgang is to be applauded, however, for bringing the industrial chopper concept where the chopped food flows out of the machine rather than being limited by container size to home kitchens.  I am amazed it has taken more than thirty years for someone to do this, but as the saying goes, “Better late than never.”

To be precise, not everything stores inside the new processor – the variable blade and storage top for the small bowl have to go elsewhere – but the cord even retracts, so it is a great improvement over my old one.  Being highly motivated, I reorganized my counter-top and found room.  I am now thinking of all the things I can make that involve a lot of chopping and processing.

Nancy

Responses

  1. I think we’re going to need a demonstration at this years pot luck! 😉

    Rebecca


Leave a Reply

Categories

