Posted by: njbrown | November 16, 2009

My grandmother’s 1-1-1 Sherbet


November 16, 2009

The oldest recipe in my recipe file is from my father’s mother who was born in 1880.  Unusual for her time, she was a college graduate (in phys ed of all things).  After her marriage at twenty-two, she was very active in church work and the Women’s Christian Temperance Union along with raising her three children.  She was in her 60s and a widow when I was born, and because my father was in the Navy, our visits with her were very few.  By the time I can remember her, she no longer cooked.  However, this recipe came from her, and was one I loved as a child.  It is more a fruit ice than a traditional sherbet.  I have never eaten anything just like it, but I think it is worth a try for a refreshing dessert especially on a hot summer day.  It is especially nice with a brownie accompaniment.

1-1-1 Sherbet (as written by my grandmother)

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Beat egg and sugar together until sugar is dissolved
  • Add 1 cup milk, the juice of 1 lemon, juice of 1 orange and 1 mashed banana
  • Add 1 small can crushed pineapple
  • Mix well, then put in a freezer pan and put in freezer.  After the mixture has begun to set, whip.  Whip once more before fully frozen.
  • Before serving, let the mixture thaw very slightly.

I hope you enjoy it.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Categories

