Posted by: njbrown | September 7, 2009

Jacques Pepin’s 29-second deboned duck


September 7, 2009

This week’s episode of  “At the Table With…” focused on Jacques Pepin. Sara Moulton was shown telling – with awe - how he could debone a duck in 29 seconds. In Julie and Julia, much is made of the daunting task of deboning a duck, and it is certainly something I would never attempt (even if I didn’t have a bird phobia). Having read Julia’s instructions several times in Mastering the Art… , I am still mystified.

[January 7, 2010  I finally found the answer in a PBS video: Jacques Pepin deboning a chicken and turkey]

Tonight I worked on fluted mushrooms again, and I think I’ve got it finally. Like so many other things, it’s not hard once you know how. I’ve come to the conclusion that cooking is a lot like golf – a never-ending attempt to do it better.

A friend wanted to see Julie and Julia, so we took her this evening. Time number four for me, and George’s second time. Nora Ephron really did a wonderful job, as did the whole cast. Friends of ours recently went to the Smithsonian to see Julia’s exhibit, and greatly enjoyed it. I want George to take me after I retire. There is a wonderful fellowship among Julia followers.

I always wanted to write Julia a fan letter, but never got around to it. I hope this is a substitute.

Nancy

Responses

  1. great blog

    competitive intelligence

    • Thank you for your kind words!

      Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

